Rap Music in a Country Bar

It never fails to impress me when a guy asks to dance to hip hop.

Don’t get me wrong I’ve been known to blare a hip hop or rap song on an occasion or two. However, when it comes down to the “meat and potatoes” of the matter I’m a country girl to the bone. I grew up on the back of a horse with my dad teaching me everything he knew about horses, rodeo and life. My dad instilled the love of cowboy music in my heart and soul. I am inspired by musicians like Ian Tyson, Chris LeDoux, Bob Wills and Hoyt Axton. Sure, call me Punchy, I know I dance to my own beat and I like it that way. I’m not completely old fashioned, I love Red Dirt music just as much as these cowboy artists. Jason Boland, Aaron Watson, Cody Canada, Kyle Park and The Turnpike Troubadors are all on my top favorite musicians list. There is nothing quite like a waltz from Jason Boland or a two-step Bob Wills-inspired swing song fromĀ  Aaron Watson to get my heart racing and feet moving.

The point to all this is that when I’m in a bar I’m looking for a good dance. I’m looking for a friend to swing me across the dance floor, or for some young cowboy to ask for a two-step. The last thing I’m looking for is a hip hop bump and grind tune.

So, to the “gentleman” (I use the term lightly) who approached me the other night let me make myself clear by the meaning of “no thank you”.

You are standing in the middle of a country bar where cowboy hats outnumber you ten to one. I am standing next to the dance floor while a sea of preppy girls ‘shake what their momma gave them’, and I am dressed in jeans, boots, and a denim jacket with my collar popped. So, no I would not like to ‘Do it like Bernie’ nor do I want to ‘Wobble It’ or ‘Drop it Like it’s Hot’. Thanks but no thanks. I honestly don’t see how I could have been a promising subject to ask, for goodness sakes I was the Punchiest girl there!

Well, anyway folks there’s my rant for the day. If nothing else I hope I’ve given fair warning to men everywhere: don’t ask a cowgirl to ‘Do it Like Bernie’ without knowing there is a good chance that you get told where you can go.

Love, K
image

Leave a Reply

